The Thomas Merton Center at Bellarmine University



ITMS Chapters and Affiliates

The number and variety of programs carried out by various ITMS local and regional Chapters reflect the impact that Thomas Merton has on people of all ages, creeds, economic status, and geographic location. Listed below are Chapters (in the USA and overseas) and Affiliated Societies with the names of their Directors.

ITMS Chapters Coordinator:
Michael A. Brennan
4537 N. Melvina
Chicago, IL 60630-3013
E-mail: cc.itms@gmail.com

There is also an ITMS Group on Facebook.





 • ITMS CHAPTERS (U.S.A.)

Anchorage, AK 99507
Kathleen Tarr
Alaska Chapter of the ITMS
2303 East 52nd Avenue

ktarralaska@gmail.com
907-306-3386


Birmingham, AL 35222
Max Berueffy 
Birmingham Chapter of the ITMS
4429 10th Avenue South

Max.Berueffy@protective.com



Fayetteville, AR 72703
John King 
NW Arkansas Thomas Merton Study Group
1923 E. Joyce Blvd. (Apt. 235)

pooch21@msn.com



Jonesboro, AR 72450
Jim Medlock
NE Arkansas Merton Reading Group


medlockj@gmail.com



Phoenix, AZ 85085
Duncan Macaulay, Oblate, OSB Cam
Arizona Chapter of the ITMS
30914 N 26th Ave.

duncanofthedesert@gmail.com



Sacramento, CA 95864
John Berger
Northern California Chapter of ITMS
3736 Laguna Way

bergerjh8@gmail.com



San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675
Michael J. Mullard
Mission Basilica San Juan Capistrano Chapter of ITMS


mikemullard@me.com



LA Area - CA
Chris Machado, SSS
Holy Spirit Retreat Center
4316 Lanai Rd.
Encino, CA 91436
chris_testver@yahoo.com



Boulder, CO 80306-4740
James F. Kettering
Leaders Network ITMS Chapter
PO Box 4740

leadersnet@comcast.net



Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Rev. Roger Butts
Thomas Merton Society-Colorado Springs 


revrogerb@msn.com
719-433-3135


Lakewood, CO 80212
Gerry Prus

2626 Osceola St., Apt. 802W
Denver, CO 80212 
prusgt@juno.com



Granby, CT 06035
Mike Smoolca 

8 Tennyson Dr. 

msmoolca@hotmail.com

www.invialumen.org/northctitms.html

New Haven, CT 06520
Emma McDonald
Yale University Reading Group (and open to the wider community)


Emma.mcdonald@yale.edu
410-456-1682


Washington, DC
Maryle Ashley

9039 Sligo Creek Pkwy, Apt 1002
Silver Spring, MD  20901
tmsociety@fastmail.fm

www.facebook.com/Thomas-Merton-Society-of-Washington-155831121105772/

Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Mary Helms & George Beckerman 
Interfaith Chapter of Southern Delaware 
20859 Kenwood Lane 

george.beckerman@gmail.com



Atlanta, GA
Maggie Winfrey 
Atlanta Merton Study Group 
6851 Roswell Road NE, Apt. K-4
Sandy Springs, GA 30328 
maggie.winfrey@gmail.com 
404-717-6815


Dubuque, IA 52001
Rev. Marilyn Hendricks
St. John Episcopal Parish Center (meeting location, 14th & Locust)
1458 W Locust St

pastorhendricks@att.net
847-987-1714


Chicago, IL 60630-3013
Michael A. Brennan

4537 N. Melvina

cc.itms@gmail.com



Louisville, KY 40205
Ellyn Crutcher

1717 Clayton Rd  

ellyncrutcher@aol.com
502-592-1167
merton.org/ITMS/Louisville/

Trappist, KY 40051
Br. Paul Quenon, OCSO
Abbey of Gethsemani
3642 Monks Road

paulquenon@monks.org



Northern KY
Daniel Burr

226 Covington Avenue
Covington, KY 41011 
burrda@uc.edu



Shirley, MA 01464
John P Collins - Coordinator; Arthur Rogers - Catholic Chaplain
Massachusetts Correctional Institution -Shirley
PO Box 1218

jpcoll@townisp.com



Clinton Township, MI 48038
Mary T. Corcoran

43441  Pointe Dr.

mtcorcoran@wowway.com



Grand Rapids, MI 49528-0104
Bill Murphy
Merton Society - Grand Rapids 
PO Box 120214 

bill@ThomasMertonSociety-GrandRapids.org

ThomasMertonSociety-GrandRapids.org

New Albany, MS 38652
Rev. John H. Staggs

1146 L-5 C.R. 135E 

fatherlouis1@gmail.com



Apex, NC 27523
Jack Arnold

1320 Holt Road 

jackarnold36@hotmail.com



Wall, NJ 07719
Greg Ryan
St. Rose Parish Center, Belmar.
1619 Wight Street 

gjryan@optonline.net



Santa Fe, NM 87501
 Charles J. Flynn

561 Camino Tierra Alta

charlesflynn@hotmail.com



Sag Harbor, NY 11963
Maryann Calendrille
Sag Harbor Merton Circle c/o Canio's Cultural Café
290 Main Street  

mac@caniosbooks.com or
631-725-4926


Syracuse, NY 13208
Jim Krisher
Spiritual Renewal Center
1118 Court St, Suite B

jakrisher@gmail.com



Rochester, NY 14618
Christine Bochen 
Nazareth College
4245 East Ave





New York, NY 10027
ITMS Chapter
Corpus Christi Church
529 W 121st St

info@thomasmertonnyc.org

thomasmertonnyc.org

New Rochelle, NY 10801
Kathleen Deignan, CND
Iona College
715 North Ave

kdeignan@iona.edu



Albany, NY 12205
Walt Chura

65 New Shaker Road 

wwchura@yahoo.com



Copley, OH 44321
Deacon Robin Adair
Guardian Angels Church
1676 S. Cleveland-Massillon Rd.

deacrobin@sbcglobal.net



Greater Cincinnati, OH / Northern KY
Daniel Burr

226 Covington Ave
Covington, KY 41011 
burrda@uc.edu



Cleveland, OH
Donna Kristoff, OSU

2600 Lander Road
Pepper Pike, OH 44124 
dkristoff@ursulinesisters.org



Lafayette, OR 97127
Br. Mark Filut, OCSO
Our Lady of Guadalupe Trappist Abbey
9200 NE Abbey Road

Marysommerset@comcast.net



Mt. Angel, OR 97362
Therese Schroeder-Sheker
The Chalice of Repose Project
PO Box 169

phoebe51@chaliceofrepose.org



Pittsburg, PA 15224
Diane McMahon, PhD, CFRE
Thomas Merton Center
5125 Penn Avenue 

office@thomasmertoncenter.org



Greater Philadelphia, PA and South Jersey Chapter
Frederick C. Pratt 

225 W Baltimore Ave 
Lansdowne, PA 19050 
fcpratt@yahoo.com



Memphis, TN 38152
Gray Matthews
University of Memphis Dept. of Communications
3720 Alumni Ave

matthews@memphis.edu



Harrisonberg, VA 22801
Anna Rose Geary

1440 Crawford Ave.





Seattle, WA 98105
Michael Lunde
Blessed Sacrament Church.
5050 8th Ave NE

mlunde64@gmail.com



Charleston, WV 25311
Fr. Bill Petro
WV Institute for Spirituality
1601 Virginia Street E

frbpetro42@gmail.com



 • ITMS CHAPTERS (Overseas)

Argentina, Buenos Aires
Miguel Grinberg
C.C. Central 1933

1000 Buenos Aires ARGENTINA
mdgrinberg@gmail.com


Argentine Westlands Chapter
Dra. Marcela Raggio
Facultad de Filosofía y Letras UNCuyo, Depto. de Inglés
Centro Universitario
(5500) Mendoza M5502JMA ARGENTINA
marcelaraggioo@yahoo.com.ar


Australia - Melbourne, Victoria
Dr Stewart Sharlow
12 Devon Street, Box Hill South

Victoria 3128 AUSTRALIA
australianthomasmertonsociety@gmail.com 


Australia - Sydney, NSW
Glenn Loughrey
1/3 Daintree Close

Banora Point NSW 2486 AUSTRALIA
redshoeswalking@bigpond.com.au


France
Christine Hicks
4, rue Victor Hugo

66500 Prades FRANCE



New Zealand
Sister Eleanor Capper RSJ
9/446 Ferry Road /
Woolston
Christchurch 8023 NEW ZEALAND
ecapper42@gmail.com


Norway
Ørjan Aarmo


NORWAY
orjan.aarmo@gmail.com
Phone: +47 91647480

Russia
Andrei Kirilenkov
12-215 prosp Marshal Zhukova

123308 Moscow RUSSIA
ankir57@mail.ru


South Africa - Johannesburg
Elmor van Staden
P.O. Box 7014 

Cresta, 2118. SOUTH AFRICA
Elmor.vanStaden@hds.com


 • ITMS AFFILIATED SOCIETIES AND ORGANIZATIONS

Belgium and Netherlands
Jan Glorieux  p/a secretary
Kapellestraat 53
B 8573 Tiegem
secretariaat@thomasmerton.nl 
www.thomasmerton.nl

Brazil
Fernando Paiser.
Rua Ver. Antonio Arzola Sobrinho, 57
São Cristóvão Rio das Pedras, São Paulo 13390-000
merton.br@gmail.com 
www.merton.org.br

Canada
Judith Hardcastle
Apt. 904, 108 E. 14th
North Vancouver, BC, V7L 2N3 
judithhardcastle@telus.net
www.merton.ca

England
Fiona Gardner.
4 Chilton Road,
Bath BA1 6DR.
fiona@chiltonbath.co.uk
www.thomasmertonsociety.org.uk

Germany
Detlev Cuntz
Margeritenstrasse 19B,
91074 Herzogenaurach,
detlev.cuntz@gmx.de


Ireland
Scott Peddie
2 Regent Gardens, Ballyclare,
Antrim BT39 9LF
scottpeddie@sky.com
mertonfellowshipireland.wordpress.com

Italy
Maurizio Renzini -renzini@thomasmerton.eu
c/o Monastero di Fonte Avellana
61040 Serra sant'Abbondio (PU)- Italy
info@thomasmerton.eu
www.thomasmerton.eu

Korea
Young-suk Simon Moon 
Kangnam University, 40 kangnam-Ro, Kihung-gu,
Yong In, Gyonggi-do. 446-702. Korea.
smoon@kangnam.ac.kr


Poland
Krztsztof Bielawski
ul. Paulinska 8/10
31-065 Krakow
bielawsk@homini.com.pl


Spain
Fernando Beltran Llavador
C/Pico de Jalama, 11
37008 Salamanca
fdob@usal.es


Sweden
Lars Adolfsson 
Vansö Prästgård
645 92 Vansö
Lars.Adolfsson@svenskakyrkan.se

RETURN TO THE TOP OF THE PAGE